The Council congratulates the class of 2018 on the national pass rate of 78.2%, which is an improvement of 3.1% compared to the 2017 results and represents a consistent trend over the past eight years of national results above 70%.

The Department of Basic Education is commended for its initiatives to improve teaching and learning in the public education system, such as its focus on equity; improved access to schooling; the Department’s Second Chance Programme and the inclusion of progressed learners in the number of learners enrolled for 2018, which was the largest number since the Learner Progression Policy was introduced in 2015.

With the support of all stakeholders in education, the Department is making progress in realising the objectives as set out in the National Development Plan, particularly in terms of the directive to maintain a retention rate of 90% and allow for an increase in the number of learners entering vocational and occupational pathways.

The Department is also applauded for improvement in provincial results, particularly in the Eastern Cape, which recorded 70.6%, this is an increase of 5.6% from 2017 and also the biggest improvement in the country.

The teacher unions, together with their members, the teachers of our nation are praised for the instrumental role that they play in ensuring quality learning and teaching in our classrooms and the impressive national results for 2018.

“… when hands are joined together to actualise a single objective,
ignite the might that the pioneers of freedom believed was inherent in the fibre of this nation,
when this anticipated greatness unfolds,
the sacrifice of celebrated lives and ideals are not in vain,
as the seed of progress continues to grow, 25 years into democracy.”

To the class of 2018, may you continue to strive for excellence and exhibit the same dedication displayed during the 13 years of foundation, primary and secondary learning, in your working lives.

We wish you well.
Issued by the General Secretary on behalf of the Executive Committee of the ELRC.

Collective Agreement Search

Awards Search